MAC STUDIO SCULPT SPF 15 (NC15) REVIEW

December 7, 2010 § 1 Comment

MAC STUDIO SCULPT SPF 15

NC15

DESCRIPTION: Gel based hydrating foundation with medium coverage.

COST: $29.50 USD $51 AUD

PERFECT FOR: Those wanting a foundation that’s hydrating and  leaves a natural finish.

APPLY WITH: Foundation brush (189,190,191,187), sponges or fingers.

REVIEW: I purchased my Studio Sculpt (SS) from the MAC website. I am quite pale with yellow undertones, so I decided on NC15.

SS comes in a clear squeeze tube which is great for squeezing just the right amount out. MAC describes the consistency of this foundation as gel based, but I would call it thick mousse like (like the dessert!).

I found the NC15 in SS to be slightly paler and less yellow than NC15 in Studio Fix Fluid (SFF). I do prefer the coloring of NC15 in SFF, but NC15 in SS is still a good match on my skin.

I’ve applied SS with both my fingers and a 190 foundation brush. I found this product takes quite a bit of effort to blend and if you use your fingers it takes AGES to get right. A foundation brush certainly delivers a better result and dramatically speeds up the application time.

After applying and blending this foundation, I find it can look a little streaky. Just leave the foundation for a couple of minutes to settle, blend some more and any streakiness should fade. I then apply Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light over the top with a 129 brush to set it.

I would say this foundation has light to medium coverage. I would not use this foundation if you are after high coverage because this foundation does not look good if you over apply it.

I was nervous about trying this foundation because of it’s moisturizing properties. Anything moisturizing usually leaves me quite oily, but this foundation gave me a nice natural finish that was in between matte and dewey. If you have oily skin, I would definitely recommend using a finishing powder.

OVERALL: This foundation looks nice and natural on my skin. I think i’ll stick with my Studio Fix Fluid for the warmer months and use Studio Sculpt in the winter when my skin needs a little more hydration. The only downside to this foundation is that is takes quite a while to blend and get right, so I would not recommend this if you don’t have a lot of time to apply your make up. I would also not recommend this foundation if you have very oily skin, as it may emphasise any oiliness.

RATING:


§ One Response to MAC STUDIO SCULPT SPF 15 (NC15) REVIEW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading MAC STUDIO SCULPT SPF 15 (NC15) REVIEW at Mac Cosmetics Reviews.

meta

